Franklin County Missouri was founded December 11, 1818 and named for Benjamin Franklin. Estimated population in 2015 was 102,426. The County seat is Union MO (zip code 63084), which is where our museum is located. We are a part of the St. Louis Metropolitan Statistical Area. 

Franklin County was occupied by the Osage Tribe at the time of the European encounter with settlers arriving during the Spanish Empire. Population picked up after the Revolutionary War. This area was good for farming with fertile soil. Tobacco, wheat, corn, and vineyards were some of the items commonly grown.

Leading up to the Civil War the German immigrants were outnumbering the slaveholders and the area was primarily Union supporters. General Price's raids left a trail of destruction, but the good men of Franklin County held strong as Price's troops passed on towards Jefferson City. Pacific MO has a replica cannon and marker at Blackburn park to honor those that fought for freedom.

The military history runs deep from the Civil War to the present. We can never thank our veterans enough for the sacrifices they and their families have made.

Today, manufacturing accounts for almost a fourth of the local economy, but we hold onto our farming heritage across the county with many Century Farms, small family farms, and yes, we still have vineyards with St. Jordan Creek, RobllerKuenzel, and Bias Wineries. Be sure to make them a stop on your Missouri Wine Trail excursion. Host your wedding on a 125 year old family farm at Haue Valley. Or check out one of our great distilleries, like Pickney Bend or Point Labaddie Brewery.

The historical society is a dedicated group of volunteers interested in preserving and sharing our rich history with former, current, and future residents as well as those with roots in Franklin County Missouri and the surrounding area.

Our communities are: Pacific, Gray Summit, Robertsville, Catawissa, Villa Ridge, Union, Washington, Beaufort, New Haven, Berger, Gerald, St. Clair, Sullivan, Strain, Japan, Leslie, Lyon, Dissen, Detmold, Miramiguoa Park, Parkway, Oak Grove Village, Labadie, Lonedell, Luebbering, Moselle, Noser Mill, St. Albans, Stanton, Spring Bluff

President: Carole Howell

Vice President: Lynn Wagner

Sec/Treasurer: Jane Van Leer

Board of Directors: Kara Brown, Jenny Wallach, Stephanie Mansfield

Our Goals

The 2017 goals for our organization are coming soon.

Our Mission

Our mission is to preserve and share the history of Franklin County Missouri with our residents, former, current, and future.

© 2023 by THE HOPE CENTER. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
  • W-Pinterest
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now